Skip to content

拉面 La Mian World

the quest for the perfect noodle

One early evening in Singapore I walked from Outram MRT station towards the main drag of China Town. Strolling past the busy Pearls Centre I suddenly saw a familiar face. The Balestier La Mian guy! After weeks and months of struggling to find the best La Mian in Singapore I was about to make a new discovery.

The closure of the Jin Fu Rong Shi Fu restaurant in Balestier Road had sparked the start of the La Mian World blog. I had found out a lot about La Mian in Singapore: From being disappointed by well-known and well written about Lan Zhou La Mian in Smith Street to my so far favorite Ju Hao La Mian Xiao Long Bao in Lavender Food Square.

Now, the hole-in-the-wall like restaurant in Pearls Centre gives a real feel of  mainland China.  Small stools on a white tile floor, quite a bit messy and people bending down deep over their noodle soup bowls. The menu is super simple and the prices cheap, but the freshly and skillfully pulled noodles are the best I could find in Singapore so far. The broth was very tasty and slightly spicy with a real north-western Uighur flair. The La Mian were perfectly even, pulled to noodles almost like Spaghetti bought in the supermarket.

At my second visit I felt like trying the You Po Mian:  Three centimeter wide Pappardelle style noodles hand pulled one at a time, two per dish. They come in a mildly spicy sauce and are just delicious.

This is for sure not a high-end restaurant but it is, from my point of view, as close as it gets to the mainland original taste. The ex-Balestier now Pearls Centre guy is doing a great job.

Xi An Xiao Chi Zhuan Mai Dian, Pearls Centre, 100 Eu Tong Sen Street, Singapore

Tags: , , , , , ,

