Skip to content

拉面 La Mian World

the quest for the perfect noodle

The first thing that comes to my mind about Paradise Dynasty is their bus-stop advertisings in 2010 around Orchard Road in Singapore. These pictured the basket of 8-coloured xiao long bao with which they claimed to be “pushing the envelope on culinary creativity and innovation in Chinese cuisine.

From the looks of the ads and the restaurant’s location in ION Orchard, Paradise Dynasty seemed to be pushing not only the envelope but, as I suspected, also my wallet.  Nevertheless, since I love xiao long bao I needed to try it and so I did.

The interior of the restaurant for sure is quite impressive, though a bit on the tacky side for my taste. In comparison to Din Tai Fung and Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao it looks like a fancy restaurant while not being more pricy. And everyone will take home memories of the waiter serving your tea from the other side of the room using a teapot with an at least five meter long spout…

Upon studying the menu and having a look through the glass window kitchen I got to learn that not only they serve 8-coloured xiao long bao but also prepare 18 kinds of la mian. I did not actually count but that is what they say in their press release. The noodles come in a massive bowl and are outstandingly long. So with my humble chop stick noodle soup eating techniques I had to ask for a scissors surgery to get them cut in smaller pieces. Since this was a common practice at other tables as well which seated native chopstickers I did not feel bad about it. I ate the minced pork noodles. The pasta was thin and tasty. The sauce slightly to liquid but an overall enjoyable meal. A good place to take visitors to Singapore for the different experience.

Paradise Dynasty, 2 Orchard Turn, #04-12A ION Orchard, Singapore 238801

Tags: , , , , , ,

